Friday, March 20, 2009

General Elections 2009-Battlefronts in Kerala

Cricket can wait.............Yours truly has set his eyes, ears and heart on the 15th General Elections in this country. Till May 16th, which the day of Counting of the votes, it is going to be hectic days ahead. The people of India have to give a mandate rejecting politics of hate, anti-people neo-liberal economic policies that creates massive inequality and unemployment, against imperialist kowtowing, for ensuring people's livelihood, security, social justice and all-round development. It has to be a mandate for CHANGE; a change towards a non-Congress, non-BJP alternative. One becomes a bit parochial as yours truly would like to put forth the candidates of LDF and UDF in each of the 20 constituencies in my native state of Kerala, which goes to polls in the I phase on April 16th.

Kasargod  -  P.Karunakaran (CPM-LDF) v/s Shahida Kamaal (Congress-UDF)

Kannur  -  K.K.Ragesh (CPM-LDF) v/s K.Sudhakaran (Congress-UDF)

Vadagara  -  P.Sathidevi (CPM-LDF) v/s still to be announced

Kozhikkode  -  Mohammed Riyas (CPM-LDF) v/s M.K Raghavan (Congress-UDF)

Wayanad  -  Rahmatullah (CPI-LDF) v/s M.I.Shaahnawaz (Congress-UDF)

Ponnani  -  Hussain Randathani (Independent-LDF) vs. E.T.Muhammed Bashir (IUML-UDF)

Malappuram  -  T.K.Hamsa (CPM-LDF) vs. E.Ahamed (IUML-UDF)

Palakkad  -  M.B.Rajesh (CPM-LDF) vs. Satheeshan Pacheni (Congress-UDF)

Alathur  -  P.K.Biju (CPM-LDF) vs. N.K.Sudhir (Congress-UDF)

Thrissur  -  C.N.Jayadevan (CPI-LDF) vs. P.C.Chacko (Congress-UDF)

Chalakkudi  -  U.P.Joesph (CPM-LDF) vs. K.P.Dhanapalan (Congress-UDF)

Ernakulam  -  Sindhu Joy (CPM-LDF) vs. K.V. Thomas (Congress-UDF)

Idukki  -  Francis George (KCJ-LDF) vs. P.T.Thomas (Congress-UDF)

Kottayam  -  Suresh Kurup (CPM-LDF) vs. Jose K.Mani (KCM-UDF)

Pathanamthitta  -  K.Ananthagopan (CPM-LDF) vs. Anto Anthony (Congress-UDF)

Maverlikkara  -  R.S.Anil (CPI-LDF) vs. Kodikkunnil Suresh (Congress-UDF)

Alappuzha  -  K.S.Manoj (CPM-LDF) vs. K.C.Venugopal (Congress-UDF)

Kollam  -  P.Rajendran (CPM-LDF) vs. Pithambarakurup (Congress-UDF)

Attingal  -  A.Sampath (CPM-LDF) vs. G.Balachandran (Congress-UDF)

Thiruvananthapuram  -  Ramachandran Nair (CPI-LDF) vs. Shashi Tharoor (Congress-UDF)

This would be the main contestants in the state. The Drumbeats have been sounded.......all eyes and ears are set on the battlefront!!

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Trivandrim is going to be interesting.